AlmerSoft
about products purchase support
Support: AlmerBackup F.A.Q.

Q: I want to move a backup from one group to another. How do I do this?

A: Drag 'n Drop is the easiest way. Drag the icon of the backup onto the icon of the group in which you want to place the selected backup and answer the question about moving it with a "YES".

Q: What does "Folder in Destination Path" mean when a new directory is added?

A: This option is used when copying without archiving is desired. You can set a relative path for each directory. For example, if you want to copy two directories "C:\Data1" and "C:\Data2" into one directory "D:\Backup" and if you want them to be placed in "D:\Backup\Data1" and "D:\Backup\Data2" respectively, you create a backup selecting "D:\Backup" as the destination folder and, for the initial directories, set the "Folder in Destination Path" option as "Data1" and "Data2".

Q: What does "Active Backup" mean?

A: By making a backup "inactive", you can temporarily prevent a backup. The backup will not start on its scheduled time or its synchronization will not be executed.

Q: What is a revision and what is it for?

A: Revisions are the previous copies of a file, in the history of the changes made to that file. AlmerBackup can create different types of revisions depending on whether an archive is to be used or not. When copying files and folders into an archive, AlmerBackup will create revisions of those archives (.zip files). When copying without archiving, AlmerBackup will create separate revisions for each file copied.

Q: I use AlmerBackup with Windows 2000 and suddenly all the customizations disappeared. What is wrong?

A: AlmerBackup keeps an individual set of custom settings for each user in a multi-user computer setup (called profiles or sessions). If you want to backup a catalog for each user, you need to set the customizations of AlmerBackup for each user individually.

Copyright 2004 AlmerSoft